Poetry Review

Poetry Ireland Review is a long established and highly regarded journal of poetry. Published three times a year, Poetry Ireland Review features the work of both emerging and established Irish and international poets.

In line with our policy of keeping the journal fresh, vibrant and progressive, Poetry Ireland’s usual practice is to appoint a new editor after every four - eight issues.

The present editor is Vona Groarke.

Editor Poetry Ireland Review
John F Deane 105 - 112
Caitríona O'Reilly 101 - 104
Paul Muldoon 100
Caitríona O'Reilly 96 - 99
Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin 92 - 95
Peter Sirr 77 - 91
Eva Bourke 76
Michael Smith 73,74,75
Maurice Harmon 69,70,71,72
Biddy Jenkinson 65,66,67,68
Mark Roper 61,62,63,64
Catherine Phil Mac Carthy 57,58,59,60
Frank Ormsby 53,54,55,56
Liam Ó Muirthile 51,52
Michael Longley 50
Liam Ó Muirthile 49
Moya Cannon 45,46,47,48
Chris Agee 43,44
Pat Boran 40,41,42
Seán Ó Cearnaigh 39
Pat Boran 38
Peter Denman 34,35,36,37
Máire Mhac an tSaoi 30,31,32,33
Michael O'Siadhail 26,27,28,29
John Ennis 24,25
John Ennis & Rory Brennan 22,23
Dennis O'Driscoll 20,21
Ciarán Cosgrove 18,19
Terence Brown 14,15,16,17
Conleth Ellis & Rita E. Kelly 13
Thomas McCarthy 9,10,11,12
John Jordan 1-8


Find out how to submit your work to the Poetry Ireland Review here.

Subscribe to the review

Get or give a subscription to Poetry Ireland Review – Subscribe online here.


  • WIS Single Visit Application Form
  • Writers in Libraries Application Form
  • Writers in Residence Application Form
pixel design