Introductions Series

Poetry Ireland’s Introductions Series aims to encourage excellence in the craft of poetry, while raising the profile of talented, emerging poets. 

The Introductions Series runs from March to June each year, and offers the participating poets an opportunity to develop their writing and speaking/performing skills under the guidance of published poets, as well a platform to participate in a public event.  

Successful applicants receive:

  • A workshop on one of their poems, focusing specifically on form and craft.
  • A masterclass on the art of reading/speaking/performing poetry in public.
  • An opportunity to read in the Introductions Series events programme, which takes place in May / early June each year. The Introductions Series benefits from collaborations with other arts organisations, venues and musicians to compliment the poetry readings.

Poetry Ireland also aims to integrate some of the best work from the Introductions Series into high profile national poetry events throughout the year.

Previous poets selected for the Introductions Series include: Pat Boran, Enda Wyley, Nessa O’Mahony, Dave Lordan, Caoilinn Hughes, Andrew Jamison, Eleanor Hooker, Martin Dyar, Dorieann Ní Ghríofa, Kerrie O’Brien, Madeline Barnes, Victoria Kennefick and Erin Fornoff.

How to apply

Submissions are invited each year from emerging poets writing in either English or Irish, who have already had some poems published in reputable journals and are working towards, or have just completed, a first collection. Applications are facilitated by an independent, established assessor. 

Applicants are required to submit:

  • A short biography and covering letter. 
  • A selction of poems (previously published or unpublished).

Submissions should be no longer than 10 pages in total and poets submitting must have had a body of work published in journals or magazines.

Submission deadline:
Deadlines for the 2016 Introductions Series will be announced in late 2015. 

» Watch more videos from previous Poetry Ireland Introductions Series