Nominations for the next Ireland Professor of Poetry

28th September 2015

During her term as Ireland Professor of Poetry Paula Meehan has been generous with her time, energy and talents and has done much to engage and inspire the poetry-loving public near and far. It’s hard to believe that she will complete her term as Ireland Professor of Poetry in October 2016, but indeed the time has come and so the Ireland Chair of Poetry Trust now invites nominations to fill this prestigious role.

The Ireland Chair of Poetry Trust was set up in 1998 following the award of the Nobel Prize of Literature to Seamus Heaney (who sat on the Trust until his death in 2013), and is jointly held between Queen's University Belfast, Trinity College Dublin, University College Dublin, the Arts Council of Northern Ireland and the Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealaíon Dublin. The Trust aims to celebrate the exceptional contribution of Irish poets to the world of literature and the previous holders of the Chair are John Montague, Nuala Ni Dhomhnaill, Paul Durcan, Michael Longley and Harry Clifton.

The Chair is tenable for a period of three years (non-renewable) during which time the holder will be attached to each of the three universities in turn and will be required to be in residence at each for approximately one academic term per year. In addition, the holder will make three formal presentations and hold other informal workshops, lectures and readings for the public.

The value of the professorship will be £30,000 sterling per annum to the holder and is open to poets of achievement and distinction.

Nominations should be addressed to the Chairman, Ireland Chair of Poetry Trust, c/o Arts Council, 70 Merrion Square, Dublin 2 or sent by email to to arrive no later than Friday16th October 2015.