The Moth Poetry Prize 2023

Deadline: 31 Dec 2023


The Moth Poetry Prize is one of the biggest prizes in the world for a single unpublished poem. The prize is open to anyone, as long as the poem is previously unpublished, and each year it attracts thousands of entries from new and established poets from over 50 countries worldwide.

The four shortlisted poems appear in the Irish Times online, and the overall winner will be announced in the spring of 2024.

The prize is judged anonymously by a single poet. Past judges include Claudia Rankine, Billy Collins, Nick Laird, Warsan Shire and Nobel Laureate Louise Glück.  
Past winners include Aniqah Choudhri, Michael Lavers, Natalya Anderson, Lee Sharkey, Ann Gray (whose poem was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem) and Abigail Parry (who was recently shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best First Collection and the T.S. Eliot Prize). 

The winner of The Moth Poetry Prize 2022 was British poet Laurie Bolger. 

‘I am over the moon. To be recognised by Louise Glück is honestly wonderful. Thank you for being so bloody lovely & making my year.’ 


Hannah Sullivan studied Classics at Cambridge, received her PhD in English from Harvard, and taught as an Assistant Professor at Stanford University. She is an Associate Professor of English at New College, Oxford. Her debut collection, Three Poems, won the T. S. Eliot Prize in 2019. Her latest collection, Was It For This, was published by Faber earlier this year.

‘Sullivan's authority, reach and ambition are exhilarating.’ Lavinia Greenlaw, London Review of Books



1st prize €6,000
3 runner-up prizes of €1,000 

8 commended poets will each receive €250

There is no line limit. The entry fee is €15 per poem. You can enter as many poems as you like. 



31 December 2023



1st prize €6,000, plus three runner-up prizes of €1,000 and eight commended poets will each receive €250. The prize is for an unpublished poem, and entrants (over 16) are welcome from anywhere in the world. The four shortlisted poems will be published in the Irish Times online and the overall winner will be announced in the spring of 2024. There is an entry fee of €15 per poem. This year’s judge is Hannah Sullivan. Closing 31 December 2023. See for details. 



Enter online:

Download entry form:


Previous winners: